The Mission’s Wayne Hussey covers Depeche Mode, Nick Cave, David Bowie on new CD

The Seeker of Good Songs

Well-Known Member

Along with reuniting The Mission for a run of 25th anniversary shows, frontman Wayne Hussey this fall will release an album with All About Eve lead singer Julianne Regan featuring “strange and interesting interpretations of already loved songs alongside new songs” — including covers of Depeche Mode, Duran Duran and David Bowie.
The duo, dubbed Hussey-Regan, will release the 12-track Curios in a signed, limited-edition version beginning in late September via Eyes Wide Shut Recordings. That edition will be sold at The Mission’s fall concerts along with an exclusive T-shirt, and then a standard version of the album will be released on CD and digitally by Cherry Red on Nov. 7.
Among the tracks covered by the duo: Depeche Mode’s “Enjoy the Silence,” Duran Duran’s “Ordinary World,” David Bowie’s “Ashes to Ashes” and Jimmy Webb’s country classic “Wichita Lineman.” Plus, they offer new versions of The Mission’s “Naked & Savage,” off 1987′s The First Chapter, and All about Eve B-side “Calling Your Name.”
Below, you can hear a 6-minute sampler of the album’s tracks.
Regan has a long history with Hussey and The Mission; she sang backing vocals on 1986 album God’s Own Medicine (most notably on single “Severina”), while All About Eve was signed to the band’s label at one point and opened for The Mission.

Tracklist: Hussey-Regan, Curios
1. “Naked & Savage”
2. “Ordinary World”
3. “Enjoy The Silence”
4. “Another Lonely Day”
5. “Wichita Lineman”
6. “Ashes To Ashes”
7. “I Go To Sleep”
8. “Where The Wild Roses Grow”
9. “Dangerous Eyes”
10. “Calling Your Name”
11. “Unravel”
12. “A Change In The Weather” (Aporia Mix)

Last edited by a moderator:
Top Bottom