Word In Your Ear / YouTube: Kevin Armstrong interview on working with Morrissey and being asked to join The Smiths (September 1, 2023)

New interview with former Morrissey guitarist Kevin Armstrong. Some references to working with Morrissey and being asked to join The Smiths at the 19:15 mark (there may be others, I haven't watched the whole thing yet).

Description:

Kevin Armstrong was the guitarist in the band David Bowie asked him to assemble for Live Aid and toured and recorded with him many times. Playing the guitar intro to Rebel Rebel in a stadium, he says, is “like lighting a match”. Start the Passenger with Iggy Pop and you’re greeted with “a great mass of love”. His memoir, Absolute Beginner, is “a window onto the high table of rock and roll” and full of insights into life in studios and on the road and the fathomless levels of diplomacy often required to collaborate. This entertaining pod expands upon …

… why he turned down the offer to join the Smiths.
… how Jim Osterberg transforms himself into Iggy Pop.
… the Sinead O’Connor’s tour manager’s trick to speed the band through security.
… the song Bowie dropped from the Live Aid set.
… why Michael Hutchence is “terrified of small crowds”.
… Bowie’s ex-Navy Seal minder and the old decoys-under-blankets ruse.
… why Morrissey is “thin-skinned”.
… and the eternal curse of “Imposter Syndrome”.

Order ‘Absolute Beginner’ here …
(book releases October 17, 2023)

full

Last edited by a moderator:
Word in your ear is great little podcast, started in lockdown from Mark Ellen and David Hepworths attics. They get top people on each episode, theyve had Lloyd Cole, Danny Baker, John Lydon, Andy Partridge, Billy Bragg, Bob Geldof etc and they talk about the first records they bought, first gigs etc. Always interesting stuff on there.